Home > Uncategorized > Camping with KC

Camping with KC

Most summers, I travel from New Mexico to the east coast and New England, camping along the way.  I pull a 1975 Airstream behind me, and my dog is my copilot.  I like to stay in state parks, Corps of Engineer campgrounds, and National Forest campgrounds. These facilities are convenient, inexpensive, and usually very well-maintained.  In many cases, they are also in beautiful locations.

I rarely have any idea ahead of time what these campgrounds are like.  I haven’t had much luck finding useful guides to public campgrounds in the US.  I’m sure there are some sources out there, but I haven’t found them yet.  I mostly use my map book combined with Woodall’s Camping Guide.  Woodall’s focuses on private campgrounds for RV’ers, but it also includes bare bones descriptions of public campgrounds along with directions on how to get to these places from major highways and intersections.

In the posts that follow, I have pictures and descriptions of the campgrounds I have visited in recent years, starting with those I used during the summer of 2014.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. FCloud9
    April 14, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    Hi there fellow Airstreamer! Just found your blog while looking for our next site near great trout fishing…noticed your mention of “lack of good” reference for campgrounds. We just spent 3 months in southwest during an awful northeast winter and used AllStays RV APP.
    We had no advance reservations and camped w. our 20′ Flying Cloud for over 90 nights using Allstays to find State/County/National parks.

    • November 13, 2015 at 10:43 am

      Thanks. Sorry for the delay in responding.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

